how to activate automatic deletion of messages on all your conversations

Here is how to set the default automatic deletion of messages in all your individual conversations on WhatsApp.

The Privacy menu on WhatsApp

The Privacy menu on WhatsApp // Source: Frandroid

WhatsApp has recently introduced the ability to schedule the automatic deletion of sent messages. You even have some freedom to choose the time before disappearance (24 hours, 7 days or 90 days). However, to take advantage of this function, it is necessary to proceed conversation by conversation. We knew, however, that an option to apply the same deletion settings to all chats was in the works to make it all more convenient. Here it is now officially arriving.

In an article available on the WhatsApp FAQ, the developers added a passage explaining that it is possible to apply this automatic message deletion to your entire account. In other words, by default, all your messages will be deleted after a period that you have defined. This novelty is available on iPhone and Android, but the deployment seems gradual. Here at Frandroid, only people using the WhatsApp beta have seen the feature land as of the time of this posting.

How to enable automatic deletion of messages on WhatsApp by default

For your convenience, here’s how to find the option:

  • Open WhatsApp.
  • Tap on the three dots at the top right of the screen.
  • Go to Settings> Account> Privacy.
  • Click on the option Time before disappearance.
  • Choose the number of days after which your messages should be deleted.

Note that only new messages sent via WhatsApp after enabling this setting will be affected. In addition, the application owned by Facebook – or rather by Meta suddenly – will display a notification when you start a new conversation to indicate that the automatic deletion is engaged. You can turn it off for certain conversations, on a case-by-case basis, if you wish.

Note, however, that conversations with several people are not affected by this setting, which is activated by default, but, if the group administrator allows it, you can activate the automatic deletion of messages, discussion by discussion.


To follow us, we invite you to download our Android and iOS application. You will be able to read our articles, files, and watch our latest YouTube videos.

Leave a Comment