How to delete a Twitter account for good

Want to quit Twitter permanently and delete your account forever? No problem ! The procedure is actually very simple. In this quick tutorial, find out how to leave the social network and delete your Twitter account forever!

Twitter is a very useful tool for getting information or having fun, but in the long run, this platform can be rather boring. In addition, the very particular format of the tweets, namely very short messages limited to 280 characters since the end of 2017, will not necessarily appeal to those who prefer long, argued speeches. The recent appearance of audio messages is unlikely to help matters, with their maximum duration of 140 seconds … Not to mention Fleets, these ephemeral messages which disappear after 24 hours, and which already raise fears of a sharp rise in cyberstalking.

You may also want to opt out of Twitter to maintain your privacy and not have a public identity on the internet, or out of fear that malware like Chrysaor could threaten your account or to preserve your personal data. You may also want to leave this platform for other personal reasons.

Previously impossible, you can now delete your account from the Android and iOS application, as well as on the web version of the blue bird. Be aware, however, that Twitter will keep your information on its servers. for thirty days after deactivating the account, in case you change your mind. During this thirty day period, you can reactivate your account by simply logging in. If you really want some tweets to disappear immediately, delete them before you deactivate the account.

Finally, note that Twitter has decided no longer delete an inactive account so as not to delete that of a deceased user. Indeed, relatives of the latter sometimes use this account as a virtual memorial. Until a new system is put in place, Twitter no longer erases any account permanently. Until then, if you haven’t used your account for a long time, that account is considered inactive and can be reactivated at any time.

Step 1 : open your browser (Google Chrome, Safari, Firefox, etc.) and go to Twitter.com.

2nd step : Click on the tab Settings and privacy in the left column

Step 3 : Once in the menu, click on the tab Your account. In the right column, look for the command Deactivate the account.

Step 4 : You are just a few clicks away from deactivating your account. First of all, know that you can set a period during which your account can be reactivated on your request. This reactivation window can last for 30 days or 12 months, it’s up to you. Once this is done, confirm the deactivation of your account by clicking on the button Deactivate.

How to delete your Twitter account on Android or iOS

  • Open Twitter app (it’s logic)
  • Click on your profile (top right)
  • Meeting on Settings and Privacy
  • Press on Account
  • Click on Deactivate your account (down)
  • Confirm by pressing Disable in red at the bottom of the page

Do you just want to get rid of your old tweets? There is no option to do this without completely deleting your account. For that :

This tool allows you, with filters, to select all or part of your tweets to delete them. You can also configure a time limit after which any tweet will be deleted. Still, Tweet Delete can only delete 3,200 tweets at a time – if you’re as addicted to Twitter as Donald Trump, there are paid services like TweetEraser that allow you to automate this task much more flexibly. Did you find this tutorial useful? Any suggestions to improve it? Share your feedback in the comments.

In addition, be aware that it has recently been possible to delete unwanted followers without blocking them. This action, also known as Soft Block, gives the user more control over what they want to share and not share with those followers. However, this procedure allows the deleted person to continue to see your tweets, with the difference that they will no longer appear in their news feed. You will need to do a search to see your specific content.

Leave a Comment