how to delete all history on android

Google Maps saves the history of all the places you have visited. A gold mine for keeping track of all your trips, regardless of the mode of transport used. Sometimes it can be very handy to know for example how many kilometers you walked last week. But there are also cases where this information should be deleted. It’s fortunately quite simple, as you’ll see in this quick tutorial.

google maps

Google apps have a tendency to record everything you do with them. Just go to the settings of your Google account to realize the bewildering amount of data that the firm keeps. Google Maps history stores information on places you searched for, places visited, previous routes, reviews you left… So follow this quick tutorial to delete everything in a jiffy!

How to Delete Google Maps History from Android Smartphone

Delete places and routes

To remove only a few places and routes visited in Google Maps:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Go to your profile by clicking on your account at the top right
  3. Click on > Your Journeys
  4. Choose the history to delete. You can choose according to the date, but also according to the place according to the category or the location on the map
  5. Click on To delete Where ⋮ > Delete
navigation history google maps android

Delete a day

To delete a day in Google Maps:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Touch ☰ > Your Trips
  3. Click on top right > Delete the day

Delete all history

To completely delete Google Maps history:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Touch ☰ > Your Trips
  3. Touch ⋮ > Settings and privacy. You will then have the option to delete all history, a period of history or activate automatic deletion after a period that you have defined
  4. To delete all history, click Delete location history

In Settings and privacy, you can also choose to deactivate this history by clicking on Location History.

Delete Google Maps history from computer

clear google maps navigation history
Clear Google Maps Browsing History

Delete places and routes

To remove only a few places and routes visited in Google Maps:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Touch ☰ on the left of the search bar > Your Trips
  3. Choose the history to delete based on day or place by clicking directly on a red point on the map
  4. Click the trash can icon to To delete

Delete all history

To completely delete Google Maps history:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Touch ☰ on the left of the search bar > Your Trips
  3. At the bottom right of the map you have thetrash can icon. Click it to permanently delete all location history

If you wish, you can additionally deactivate the Google Maps location history to be sure that you are never tracked again. To deactivate this history, it is also very simple:

  1. Open Google Maps
  2. Touch ☰ > Your Trips
  3. Click on the button Manage location history at the bottom of the screen
  4. You can then deactivate theLocation History or turn on auto-delete for your Location History after the period of your choice.

Do you find Location History in Google Maps useful? In what situations do you use it? Share your experience in the comments of this tutorial!

Leave a Comment