how to delete messages permanently

WhatsApp allows you to delete messages several hours after sending them. Whether they are messages sent by mistake or not, you can delete them from both your conversation history and that of your interlocutor.

WhatsApp
Credits: Unsplash

WhatsApp keeps improving over the years. While initially it was not possible to delete messages already sent, the functionality made its appearance in 2017. At first, the application allowed only 7 minutes to delete a message already sent. Then, the time limit increased to one hour.

Since August 2022, Meta has announced numerous changes to the privacy policies. The withdrawal period is now two days. You therefore have 48 hours to “delete a message for all”, and this, definitively. If you don’t know how to do it, it’s very simple.

WhatsApp: you can delete two-day-old messages

You would have understood it. For the method described below to work, the message(s) concerned must be deleted less than 48 hours after they were sent.

  • Open the conversation containing the message you want to delete.
  • Long press on the message. You can also select several messages after the first long press.
  • Press on delete icon at the top. It comes in the form of a basket. Then press Delete for all.

Deleted messages permanently disappear from the conversation history of your interlocutor and yours. If you’re using WhatsApp for Android, deleted photos also disappear from Gallery. Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS, however, can still see your media in the Photos app.

How to delete messages for you only?

You can also delete messages just for yourself. The recipient can therefore continue to see them in their WhatsApp history, but not you. To do this :

  • Open the conversation containing the message you want to delete.
  • Long press on the message. You can also select multiple messages.
  • Press on delete icon which is in the form of a trash can at the top. Then press delete for me.

Unlike the “delete for all” option, the one to delete messages just for you has no time limit. You can delete messages at any time, even several years later.

Leave a Comment