How to delete your Facebook account?

How to delete your Facebook account?

For many years, Facebook has wanted to be the biggest social network in existence. But it’s no secret that this one loses interest for many people and … maybe even for you! If you’re looking to delete your Facebook account, or even just deactivate it, you’ve come to the right place. We will explain how to do it from a PC or a smartphone.

Disable or completely delete the account?

On the Facebook social network, there are two ways to leave: either deactivate your account or delete it completely. But an important difference exists between these two exit doors. The first is designed to take a “pause” on Facebook, since it will be quite possible, without time limit, to reactivate it by logging into your account again. Once the account is deactivated, no one will have access to your profile until reactivation. The deletion is permanent. Once the account is deleted, you will only have 30 days to initiate a deletion cancellation procedure if you wish. Once the thirty days have passed, your Facebook account will simply no longer exist.

How to deactivate a Facebook account?

Deactivate your Facebook account from a computer

Here are the few very simple steps allowing you to deactivate, temporarily or not, your Facebook account on an internet browser, from a computer (Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, Linux, etc.):

  • Go to Facebook and log in to your account;
  • Click on the arrow, pointing downwards, at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and privacy” then on “Settings”;
  • On the left of the screen, click on “Privacy” then on “Your Facebook information”;
  • Click on “Deactivation and deletion”;
  • Choose “Deactivate account”, then validate the different steps;

In the very last step, Facebook will ask you to enter your password in order to complete the deactivation.

Deactivate your Facebook account

Deactivate your Facebook account from an iPhone or iPad

From your iPhone or iPad, open the official Facebook application then follow these few steps:

  • Click on “Menu” at the bottom right of the screen;
  • Scroll on the screen, then click on “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Deactivate account”, then “Continue with account deactivation”;
  • Validate the steps, enter your password and complete the deactivation.

Deactivate Facebook account on iOS

Deactivate your Facebook account from an Android smartphone or tablet

The procedure for deactivating a Facebook account from an Android smartphone, or a tablet running the same operating system, is similar to that on iOS:

  • Click on the three parallel bars at the top right of the screen, below the Messenger icon;
  • Scroll on the screen, then click on “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Deactivate account”, then “Continue with account deactivation”;
  • Validate the steps, enter your password and complete the deactivation.

deactivate facebook account on android

How to delete a Facebook account?

Delete Facebook account from computer

Here are the few very simple steps allowing you to permanently delete your Facebook account on a web browser from a computer (Windows, macOS, Chrome OS, Linux, …):

  • Go to Facebook and log in to your account;
  • Click on the arrow, pointing downwards, at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and privacy” then on “Settings”;
  • On the left of the screen, click on “Privacy” then on “Your Facebook information”;
  • Click on “Deactivation and deletion”;
  • Choose “Delete account”, then validate the different steps;
  • Enter your password and complete the deactivation.

Delete Facebook account

Delete your Facebook account from an iPhone or iPad

To permanently delete your Facebook account from an iPhone, follow these few steps:

  • Click on “Menu” at the bottom right of the screen;
  • Scroll on the screen, then click on “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Delete account”, then “Continue with account deletion”;
  • Validate the steps, enter your password and complete the deletion.

Delete Facebook account on iOS

Delete your Facebook account from an Android smartphone or tablet

Just like deactivation, deleting a Facebook account on Android is very simple and looks just like deleting on iPhone and iPad:

  • Click on the three parallel bars at the top right of the screen, below the Messenger icon;
  • Scroll on the screen, then click on “Settings and confidentiality”;
  • Click on “Privacy Shortcuts”;
  • Scroll down until you reach the “Your Facebook data” section, then click on “Delete your account and information”;
  • Check “Delete account”, then “Continue with account deletion”;
  • Validate the steps, enter your password and complete the deletion.

Delete Facebook account on Android

General questions about deleting a Facebook account

After how long is the Facebook account completely deleted?

Thirty days after initiating the deletion procedure, and if you have not requested to cancel it, your Facebook account will be permanently deleted. No more solution will be offered to you to recover it.

Is it possible to continue using Messenger with a deleted Facebook account?

No, once the Facebook account is deleted, Messenger will no longer be accessible through this account. Only deactivating an account allows you to continue using the Facebook Messenger instant messaging service.

What happens to my pages when my Facebook account is deleted?

When the account is deleted, all the pages that you alone managed will be deactivated. If another administrator was present on the page, then it will continue to exist.

Is it possible to recover Facebook data before deletion?

Yes, you can ask Facebook for a full copy of your Facebook data before deleting your account and even at any time:

  • Go to Facebook and log in to your account;
  • Click on the arrow, pointing downwards, at the top right of the screen;
  • Click on “Settings and privacy” then on “Settings”;
  • On the left of the screen, click on “Privacy” then on “Your Facebook information”;
  • Finally, click on “Download profile information”;
  • Select the period in the appropriate field, leave everything checked then go to the bottom of the page;
  • Click on “Request Download”. A copy will be created and you will be informed by email as soon as it is available.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.