google photos donnees mobiles

this update may ruin your data plan, here’s why

Google Photos will return to a feature that has been present for a long time on its Android application. Indeed, the manufacturer is obviously thinking of deactivating the option to prevent the downloading of videos via your mobile data. A minor change that could however ruin your data envelope.

Google regularly updates its most popular services. Regarding Google Photos, the manufacturer recently added the locked folder on other Android smartphones. This feature allows you to hide your most sensitive photos and remove it from the cloud. This option should arrive soon elsewhere on iOS.

If you are a regular user of the app, you probably know that it has long allowed you to choose whether your videos are downloaded via your mobile data. In fact, by going to the application settings and in the Backup and Synchronization tab, you will find another menu Mobile data consumption. Right here, you are free to choose a daily backup limit. Several options are available:

  • No data
  • 5 MB
  • 10 MB
  • 30 MB
  • No limits
  • Roaming backup

Also read: Google Photos can now store images in a locked folder, here’s how

Google Photos: is this update a mistake or not?

As you may know, this last option determines whether or not you want vyour mobile data is used to upload your videos to Google Photos. As Google explained, this daily limit was first introduced in March 2019 for users in India and other countries to give them “more granular daily controls for the use of cellular data for backup ”.

However, and as revealed by our colleagues from the 9To5Google site, a new update of the app to remove the option “Use cellular data to save videos ”. In other words, users will only be able to opt for a daily limit between 5 and 30MB. A decision that is difficult to understand, especially since some users do not want large videos downloaded on their data plan.

According to 9To5Google, this change could be a mistake on the part of Google. They tried to contact the web giant to find out if the removal of video backup controls is intentional. For now, the Mountain View firm has not commented on the subject.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.